NLC is governed by a board of directors that is comprised of four officers (president, first vice president, second vice president, and immediate past president), all past presidents still in local government service, eight state league directors, seven advocacy committee chairs, and forty at-large members. The president, first vice president, and second vice president are elected to one-year terms during the annual business meeting, and twenty local elected officials are elected to serve two-year terms as at-large members of the board. An elected official must currently hold elected office in an NLC-member city to serve in a leadership position.


Matt Zone
Councilmember, Cleveland, Ohio

First Vice President

Mark Stodola
Mayor, Little Rock, Arkansas
Matt_Zone_2_200x250.jpg Mark_Stodola_200x250_0.jpg

Second Vice President

Karen Freeman-Wilson
Mayor, Gary, Indiana

Immediate Past President

Melodee Colbert-Kean
Councilmember, Joplin, Missouri
Karen_Freeman-Wilson_200x250.jpg Melodee_Colbert_Kean 200x250.png

CEO/Executive Director


Clarence E. Anthony
Former mayor of South Bay, Florida, and former NLC president



Comments or Questions?