

Past Presidents

Titles noted are those held when elected as president of the National League of Cities. Updated November 2024

- 2024 Mayor David Sander, Rancho Cordova, California
- **2023** Mayor Victoria Woodards, Tacoma, Washington
- **2022** Mayor Vince Williams, Union City, Georgia
- **2021** Councilmember Kathy Maness, Lexington, South Carolina
- **2020** Councilmember Joe Buscaino, Los Angeles, California
- 2019 Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson, Gary, Indiana
- 2018 Mayor Mark Stodola, Little Rock, Arkansas
- **2017** Councilmember Matt Zone, Cleveland, Ohio
- 2016 Councilmember Melode Colbert-Kean, Joplin, Missouri
- **2015** Mayor Ralph Becker, Salt Lake City, Utah
- 2014 Mayor Christopher Coleman, Saint Paul, Minnesota
- 2013 Mayor Marie Lopez Rogers, Avondale, Arizona
- **2012** Mayor Ted Ellis, Bluffton, Indiana
- 2011 Council Member James Mitchell, Jr, Charlotte, North Carolina
- 2010 Mayor Ronald O. Loveridge, Riverside, California
- 2009 Mayor Kathleen Novak, Northglenn, Colorado
- **2008** Council Member Cynthia McCollum, Madison, Alabama
- 2007 Mayor Bart Peterson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 2006 Councilmember James C. Hunt, Clarksburg, West Virginia

(202) 626-3000



- Mayor Anthony A. Williams, Washington, District of Columbia
- Selectman Charles Lyons, Arlington, Massachusetts
- Mayor John DeStefano, Jr., New Haven, Connecticut
- Mayor Karen J. Anderson, Minnetonka, Minnesota
- Mayor Dennis W. Archer, Detroit, Michigan
- Mayor Bob Knight, Wichita, Kansas
- Mayor Clarence E. Anthony, South Bay, Florida
- Councilman Brian J. O'Neill, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
- Council Member Mark Schwartz, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
- Mayor Gregory S. Lashutka, Columbus, Ohio
- Councilwoman-at-Large Carolyn Long Banks, Atlanta, Georgia
- Mayor Sharpe James, Newark, New Jersey
- Mayor Donald M. Fraser; Minneapolis, Minnesota
- Commissioner Glenda E. Hood; Orlando, Florida
- Mayor Sidney Barthelemy; New Orleans, Louisiana
- Mayor Bob Bolen; Fort Worth, Texas
- Mayor Terry Goddard; Phoenix, Arizona
- Councilor Pamela P. Plumb; Portland, Maine
- Councilwoman-at-Large Cathy Reynolds; Denver, Colorado
- Mayor Henry G. Cisneros; San Antonio, Texas
- Mayor George V. Voinovich; Cleveland, Ohio
- Mayor George Latimer; St. Paul, Minnesota
- Mayor Charles Royer; Seattle, Washington
- Mayor Ferd L. Harrison; Scotland Neck, North Carolina
- Mayor William H. Hudnut, III; Indianapolis, Indiana
- Councilwoman Jessie M. Rattley; Newport News, Virginia
- Mayor John P. Rousakis; Savannah, Georgia

- Mayor Tom Moody; Columbus, Ohio
- Council Member Phyllis Lamphere; Seattle, Washington
- Mayor Hans G. Tanzler; Jacksonville, Florida
- Mayor Carlos Romero Barcelo; San Juan, Puerto Rico
- Mayor Jake Garn, Salt Lake City, Utah (honorary Jan-Feb 1975)
- Mayor Tom Bradley; Los Angeles, California
- Mayor Roman S. Gribbs; Detroit, Michigan
- Mayor Sam Massell; Atlanta, Georgia
- Mayor Richard G. Lugar; Indianapolis, Indiana
- Mayor Frank Curran; San Diego, California
- Mayor Beverly Briley; Nashville, Tennessee
- Mayor James H. J. Tate; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
- Mayor Harold M. Tollefson; Tacoma, Washington
- Mayor Jerome P. Cavanagh; Detroit, Michigan
- Mayor Henry W. Maier; Milwaukee, Wisconsin
- Mayor John F. Collins; Boston, Massachusetts
- Mayor Lewis Cutrer; Houston, Texas
- Mayor Gordon S. Clinton; Seattle, Washington (1/62-8/62)
- Mayor Richardson Dilworth; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (8/61-1/62)
- Mayor Don Hummel; Tucson, Arizona
- Mayor Raymond R. Tucker; St. Louis, Missouri
- Mayor Anthony J. Celebrezze; Cleveland, Ohio
- Mayor George Christopher; San Francisco, California
- Mayor Ben West; Nashville, Tennesee
- Mayor Robert F. Wagner, Jr.; New York, New York
- Mayor Allen C. Thompson; Jackson, Mississippi
- Mayor William E. Kemp; Kansas City, Missouri

- Mayor William B. Hartsfield; Atlanta, Georgia
- Mayor A. E. Cobo; Detroit, Michigan
- Mayor William F. Devin; Seattle, Washington
- Mayor Quigg Newton; Denver, Colorado
- Mayor DeLesseps S. Morrison; New Orleans, Louisiana
- Mayor Fletcher Bowron; Los Angeles, California
- Mayor Woodall Rodgers; Dallas, Texas
- Mayor R. E. Riley; Portland, Oregon
- Mayor Wilson W. Wyatt; Louisville, Kentucky
- Herbert A. Olson, Michigan Municipal League
- Mayor Charles E. Lee; Decatur, Illinois
- **1941-42** E. E. McAdams, League of Texas Municipalities
 - Richard Graves, League of California Cities
 - C. C. Ludwig, League of Minnesota Cities
 - Morton L. Wallerstein, League of Virginia Municipalities
 - City Manager Andrew Joyner, Jr.; Greensboro, North Carolina
 - John G. Stutz, League of Kansas Municipalities
 - William P. Capes, New York State Conference of Mayors
 - Harold D. Smith, Michigan Municipal League
 - **1933** Frederick N. MacMillin, League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- **1930-32** Sedley H. Phinney, New Jersey State League of Municipalities
 - Harvey W. Draper, League of Texas Municipalities
 - Don C. Sowers, Colorado Municipal League
 - A. D. McLarty, Illinois Municipal League
 - Morton L. Wallerstein, League of Virginia Municipalities
- **1924-26** Morris B. Lambrie, League of Minnesota Cities